May 8, 2019 – Annual Meeting

At the Annual Meeting, Holly Sorensen, Director of the Des Plaines Public Library was awarded AAUW Northwest Woman of the Year presented by Ellen Yearwood.

On May 8 our members gathered at the Des Plaines Elks Club to enjoy dinner together and to conduct the business of the annual meeting. We adopted our budget for the coming fiscal year, elected new branch officers, and discussed upcoming events. A highlight of the evening was the honoring of Holly Sorensen as our Woman of the Year. Holly, director of the Des Plaines Public Library, is retiring this year; she has been instrumental in the development of the library into the wonderful center it is today. Our branch has been extremely fortunate to have the wonderful relationship that we have with the library; for several years, they have cosponsored programs that we could not have afforded to have for ourselves and have hosted these at the library as well as providing space for several of our meetings.